• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 hamm

hamm

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:01 PM

I'm getting ready to put a furnace in my shell model and was seeking advice on which brand to get. I'm going with a 12000 btu model from either Atwood or Suburban. The Atwood I can get a little cheaper and it supposedly has a slightly lower current draw. A friend has had two Atwoods fail on him and swears by Suburban. Any suggestions?

#2 Hayduke

Hayduke

• Members
  • 111 posts
  • LocationCentral Coast California

Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:48 AM

Hamm. I did the same in my shell. I used the Atwood. Can't remember the model#, but it had the lowest amp draw I could find for a 12k btu output. The unit I have works flawlessly. I have it hooked to a thermostat, and it fires right up everytime. I'm a firefighter and am at work for a couple days, but I'll try to post some photos of my install when I can. Good Luck
Hayduke

#3 hamm

hamm

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 04:39 PM

Thanks for the reply. I'd love to see some pix of the install too.

#4 LAWNMOWERMAN

LAWNMOWERMAN

• Members
  • 214 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:23 PM

Could you list some model #s.Do you know what FWC + ATC use?Ben-Stan?
Thanks LM

2017 Tacoma TRD 4x4 Offroad / 2014 ATC Bobcat / Tucson,Az

#5 Sam

Sam

• Members
  • 312 posts
  • LocationCentral California Sierra Nevadas

Posted 25 December 2008 - 07:48 PM

You can find the brand on the FWC website. They used to use Atwood but I think they now use Suburban and ATC still uses Atwood (I think?). I installed a new Atwood in my "shell" mostly because the camper frame was already welded up for it (2001 model) I think the biggest factor in heater selection is mounting and amp draw. Read all the installation instructions carefully before you purchase to make sure the heater will go where you want it to.

#6 Yukon

Yukon

• Members
  • 234 posts
  • LocationEdmonds WA