52 replies to this topic

#1 Moose Dog

Moose Dog

• Members
  • 127 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 26 July 2016 - 05:43 PM

Hi everybody, 

A newbie here. After many years of dreaming and scheming I'm finally starting the process of putting together an Alaskan/truck combo. Choosing the Alaskan Camper is decided, however I'm not so familiar with trucks and would like to nail down the truck/heavy camper combo to the best of my ability. I've scoured around this forum for truck info but am staring a thread to focus the topic.

Assume a 8' CO, used for cross country trips but also parked in cities. I'm an artist and work at chalk festivals so the rig would be parked at those as well. For this reason a 1 ton might be too big but I'm open to possibilities. 

Preferred companies? Lemons? Gas vs. diesel? I welcome your opinions. 

Thanks also for this forum, it's very informative. Cheers...

F350 xlt 4x4 w/8' CO Alaskan and dog 

#2 Rusty

Rusty

• Members
  • 931 posts
  • LocationPort Angeles, Washington

Posted 26 July 2016 - 08:02 PM

Any 3/4 ton would do fine....not 1/2 ton...

a single rear wheel 1 ton if you can find one in good shape, 4 wheel drive if you wish in either

stay away from 6.0 and 6.4 liter Ford diesels, problematic engines...the Ford 6.7 diesels seem to be holding up...

if you can find a Ford 7.3 liter diesel in good shape your good to go....Dodge w/ Cummins diesels are a good bet as well

if you have the desire...older pickups are still available to go with period Alaskan campers...buyer beware

an 8 footer would go in a long or short bed...if you want to contain it (tailgate up) while driving...a long bed will suit you...but a short bed with the tailgate down works well also

most 3/4 tons will have gas engines sufficient to haul a camper...stay away from the smaller v-6's

smaller trucks work with the newer mini-Alaskans built for them but you won't find any in the older Alaskan category

Edited by Rusty, 26 July 2016 - 08:16 PM.