#1 Southern Gent

Southern Gent

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts
  • LocationBessemer, AL.

Posted 17 November 2008 - 11:48 PM

Greeting, I'm new at this stuff. Truck Camper aren't real popular in Alabama. I found and bought this 1996 Granby Camper in our area. The unit was in good repair with the Canvas replaced in recent years. The fellow was using 2 Oil Drums, pipe rollers, 2x4s and prayer to load the Granby into his 1/2 ton pick-up. Ok for him.

I found a set of 3 heavy duty ( 2,000 lb ) Screw type Truck Camper Jacks. Unknown model or vintage but in good working order. They are great but my truck bed height is at the top limit of their height capacity.

While I'm new at truck camping I have moved and lifted industrial equipment for many years. This isn't Ideal for the long term.

has anyone got any suggestions regarding Lifting Our Campers on to taller Truck beds?

1996 Granby Four Wheel Camper mounted on 2004 Silverado 4x4 Extended Cab w 8 Ft. bed truck. Happy Selling

#2 the fisherman

the fisherman

Big Time

• Members
  • 955 posts

Posted 17 November 2008 - 11:57 PM

It depends on wether you want permenent jacks, or free standing. Most of these campers are equipped with Heico screw type jacks, I have an F250 with 41/2 lift and 35'' tires, I come on and off no problem, also if you have fender flares you will need swing out brackets on the permenent jacks, hope this helps, whats the matter with people in Alabama, no campers? you need to have your water checked.

#3 John D

John D

• Members
  • 465 posts
  • LocationSoutheast

Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:39 AM

Get yourself 4 of these boys, about 500 buckeroos. Bolt 'em on. Yard stick shows height above the ground. Otherwise, get four or five deer huntin' buddies and muscle it on. I'm in Rocket City.

Attached Thumbnails

• Camper jack.JPG

#4 John D

John D

• Members
  • 465 posts
  • LocationSoutheast

Posted 18 November 2008 - 04:21 AM