Photo

Solar Power for your Camper – Where to Start (Hint: The Solar Panels are last in this list of steps)

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ckent323

ckent323

• Members
  • 1,215 posts
  • LocationSolvang, CA

Posted 09 November 2017 - 07:31 PM

I have the impression that a number of people start with the Solar panels when planning to add solar power to their camper (like I did).  So I thought it might be helpful to write a short set of steps to start to process, with the hope that it will help minimize iterations and confusion for folks wanting to add Solar.

Caveat emptor:  I am not an expert on this subject but I have read a lot on the topic and I have installed my own Solar System on my camper.  I hope I have not omitted any significant steps or considerations.

Solar Power for your Camper – Where to Start  (Hint: The Solar Panels are last in this list of steps)

Note:  - This has been edited to include recommendations from Rando's comments in the reply thread (below) 

1             Determine your daily power consumption from all sources.  Make a spreadsheet and estimate power use by device per day in winter and in summer.  Determine typical and worst case power consumption. 

-        Better yet measure your power usage (assuming you already have the camper and are currently using it without solar).   Do this to avoid over estimating power needs.  There is tendency to add up everything in the camper and worst case run times, then call that number the typical usage.