8 replies to this topic

#1 Huckfest

Huckfest

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationTahoe

Posted 07 May 2018 - 04:39 AM

I found a 2012 Grandby for sale but is in need of some repair. All four jack mounts are considerably bent or tourn off. The front wall has some waves in it that needs to be addressed. The inside is almost all there but needs some cabinetry work. All the bones are there and could be a fun project. I own a 2008 hawk and love it.

Dose anyone have any experience in repairing jack mounts and taking on a project like this. I’m a carpenter in trad and would like to talk to someone with experience. I’ll post picks tomorrow. I plan on taking a better look at it.

#2 shellback

shellback

• Members
  • 336 posts
  • LocationWagontown,PA

Posted 07 May 2018 - 12:00 PM

I think you would need to remove the siding and the interior to repair it properly. I rebuilt a 79 Grandby from scratch and tripled up the corners for my jack mounts.Because my wife is handicapped, I have electric jacks and off load the camper when on a site. Maybe overkill on my part, but didn't want to do it twice.

#3 Wandering Sagebrush

Wandering Sagebrush

Free Range Human

• Site Team
  • 10,534 posts
  • LocationNortheast Oregon

Posted 07 May 2018 - 01:29 PM

My guess is there may be broken welds in the frame. That might be quite a project. Still, if the price is right, and you’re up for it, it might be a great opportunity.

I am haunted by waters

#4 wuck

wuck

• Members
  • 329 posts
  • LocationPollock Pines, Sebastopol CA

Posted 07 May 2018 - 05:07 PM

The brackets on my Hawk were in bad shape, many broken, loose or stripped screws in a variety of diameters and lengths.P1030691r.JPG P1030744r.JPG P1030753r.JPG

I did not have any bent tubes or broken welds, so I decided to use riv-nut threaded inserts to repair the existing tubes.

P1030847r.JPG P1030844r.JPG P1030975r.JPG

They have worked very well for two years now. Repair documented here.

Pat

'04 FWC Hawk