21 replies to this topic

#1 IDKbutAlaskan

IDKbutAlaskan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationSF Bay Area

Posted 08 November 2018 - 03:57 PM

Hi. Noob here w 1960 NCO 8' I'm looking for help to decide if camper is salvagable, i.e. rotten floor. Any gurus here in NorCal that may be able to inspect please? Im willing to drive for meeting. Jay

#2 PackRat

PackRat

• Members
  • 680 posts
  • LocationNovato, CA

Posted 08 November 2018 - 06:36 PM

Jay, I think if the camper is mounted and you still have soft/spongy wood over a small area that it could be fixed. However if you have inspected it while up on jacks and the floor/side panels are loose/rotted out then the whole floor should be replaced. Then finding the extent of rot up the side walls gets you WAY DEEP into repairs.

Now you need to survey the top vents ant the top/end panels for water intrusion and further rotted wood and leaks. Staining on the inside at the vents and in the corners and under the windows

There comes a time when unless you are a carpenter and are prepared for all possible damage repairs that you may consider moving on to a less challenging project.

It sounds like the whole floor is rotted so it would be a pass for me even if it was free, probably a parts camper.

1988 Ford F-250 HD Lariat 4x4 8 Ft. bed

1976 Alaskan 8 Ft. CO camper

#3 wagoneer

wagoneer

• Members
  • 173 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco

Posted 08 November 2018 - 08:03 PM

What do you call nor-cal, whats your location?

1995 Dodge Ram diesel 1976 CO 8 Ft. Alaskan Camper

#4 IDKbutAlaskan

IDKbutAlaskan

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationSF Bay Area

Posted 08 November 2018 - 10:21 PM

Yes. It looks really bad. I'll read the sticky on how to attach photos. I'm in North California, Albany.

#5 JoeKan

JoeKan

• Members
  • 151 posts
  • LocationKansas

Posted 09 November 2018 - 02:26 AM