Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

blown fuses in new FWC Hawk Atwood furnace

FWC Hawk Electrical

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#11 Dphillip

Dphillip

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • LocationOmaha Nebraska

Posted 16 November 2018 - 07:57 PM

I just had the thermostat fail in my 2015 Hawk. You might try taking the faceplate off the thermostat and touch together those two wires. I did this and my furnace kicked right on.
  • 0
Omaha Nebraska

#12 Wallowa

Wallowa

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,198 posts
  • LocationNE Oregon

Posted 17 November 2018 - 05:09 AM

I just had the thermostat fail in my 2015 Hawk. You might try taking the faceplate off the thermostat and touch together those two wires. I did this and my furnace kicked right on.

  Battery?


  • 0

#13 Mthomas

Mthomas

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • LocationNorth Tahoe

Posted 17 November 2018 - 08:45 PM

I would upload pics, but requires resize, etc. Looking at my fuse box,  2018 Hawk is built with a 15 amp fuse for the furnace. Specs from manual for dometic 12,000 BTU furnace are draw of 3.x amps. In the install manual, there is a callout for a dedicated 15 amp circuit for the larger units, no spec for these units. Looking at the fuse panel, they used a fairly heavy gauge wire for the furnace circuit. I would assume the higher demand comes from startup of the fan, then settles down once running. 


Edited by Mthomas, 18 November 2018 - 01:11 AM.

  • 0
2018 Hawk FD<p>2016 Ram 2500 6.7 CTD

#14 Dphillip

Dphillip

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 81 posts
  • LocationOmaha Nebraska

Posted 17 November 2018 - 09:58 PM

Battery was ok, even tried a new battery the thermostat just quit working.
  • 0
Omaha Nebraska

#15 ottorogers

ottorogers

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 334 posts
  • LocationSaskatoon, SK Canada

Posted 18 November 2018 - 01:08 AM

Just picked up a brand new Grandby, it has a 15 amp furnace fuse
  • 0

#16 Wallowa

Wallowa

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,198 posts
  • LocationNE Oregon

Posted 19 November 2018 - 10:16 PM

Just picked up a brand new Grandby, it has a 15 amp furnace fuse

 

 

Odd...checked my '16 Hawk and furnace has a 7.5 amp fuse...

 

When was the move to 15 amp fuses made and are these the same furnaces? 

 

Something does not quite add up and specifics are needed from FWC.


  • 0

#17 ottorogers

ottorogers

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 334 posts
  • LocationSaskatoon, SK Canada

Posted 19 November 2018 - 10:33 PM

Odd...checked my '16 Hawk and furnace has a 7.5 amp fuse...

When was the move to 15 amp fuses made and are these the same furnaces?

Something does not quite add up and specifics are needed from FWC.

I trust FWC knows what they are doing, ours is a brand new Grandby, it has a 15 amp furnace fuse, it works perfectly, we have been using the furnace a lot for 4 days, no burning wire smells, all good
  • 1

#18 rando

rando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,019 posts
  • LocationColorado

Posted 19 November 2018 - 11:58 PM

My understanding is that Dometic stopped making the furnaces used in the 2014 - 2017 model years.   Unfortunately the replacement furnace seems to use about twice the power, and appears to have twice the inrush current of the prior furnace  :( .


  • 0

2016 Fleet Flatbed

2016 Toyota Tacoma


#19 Wallowa

Wallowa

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,198 posts
  • LocationNE Oregon

Posted 20 November 2018 - 12:06 AM

My understanding is that Dometic stopped making the furnaces used in the 2014 - 2017 model years.   Unfortunately the replacement furnace seems to use about twice the power, and appears to have twice the inrush current of the prior furnace  :( .

 

 

And that is an improvement?  More power draw?  Yikes..our furnace can drive us out of the Hawk with the heat....

 

What is 'inrush current'?

 

Thanks...Phil


  • 0

#20 rando

rando

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,019 posts
  • LocationColorado

Posted 20 November 2018 - 01:51 AM

I think the new furnace is about the same heat output - just twice the electrical consumption.   My 2016 uses the Atwood 8012-II furnace  - 12000 BTU/h input, 1.8A current draw (it is actually more like 1.5A on mine): https://www.vintaget...flamemanual.pdf

 

The new Dometic replacement is this one (I think) also 12000 BTU/h but at 3.4A current draw:

https://www.dometic....furnace-_-18523

 

The inrush current is the initial current spike needed to start up the blower motor or charge the ignitor.  This is what pops the fuse, the average current is much lower (3.4A). 


  • 0

2016 Fleet Flatbed

2016 Toyota Tacoma






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: FWC, Hawk, Electrical

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users