• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Josh41

Josh41

• Members
  • 152 posts
  • LocationMassachusetts

Posted 25 November 2018 - 03:15 PM

43K on my Frontier with a Fleet, the stock brakes were good, I only wanted more braking power a few times.  We travel lots of gravel, have been through the Rockies a few times and plan to continue the same.  

With that said, it is time to replace front brakes, and with some research my head is spinning.  

At this point, my thoughts are OEM rotors and EBC Yellow stuff.  Any thoughts on braking with loaded midsize is appreciated.

If I went with slotted and drilled, will I be sorry after a huge mud hole?

Josh

Nissan Frontier 2016 CC LWB, 2" lift, tires, airbags and other stuff

FWC Fleet 

Summers Off

#2 Dphillip

Dphillip

• Members
  • 108 posts
  • LocationOmaha Nebraska

Posted 25 November 2018 - 04:46 PM

I’m no expert but I considered putting slotted rotors on my Jeep to increase braking when traveling off road in low gear. I researched slotted rotors and came to the conclusion that slotted rotors are for race cars. There may be disagreement from others but that’s my humble opinion.

Edited by Dphillip, 25 November 2018 - 04:47 PM.

Omaha Nebraska

#3 moveinon

moveinon

• Members
  • 156 posts
  • LocationMilwaukie Oregon

Posted 25 November 2018 - 06:30 PM

I have a Tacoma and Fleet and feel the same way about my breaking as you describe.  I think that obviously a quality big brake kit increases braking the most, but they are just too expensive.  I have been happy with slotted rotors and green pads that I ran on my previous truck and plan on changing over the current truck to them when I need a brake job.  I think drilled rotors weaken the disc too much and can lead to cracks.  In my experience the slotted rotors clean faster than OEM after mud and water.  Green pads do wear faster than OEM but also break better so are worth it to me because they are easy for me to change out myself.

#4 Vic Harder