21 replies to this topic

#1 jbburns

jbburns

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 December 2018 - 02:19 AM

Hey Everybody,

I am new to the the truck camping world but my wife and I are super excited to get started on this journey. I am hoping to get some feedback on the rig we are creating and to see if anyone out there has similar setups and recommendations. This past week, my wife and I put a deposit down on a new FWC Fleet. We liked that the counters were lower for her and the ability to put the camper on a smaller truck. We are planning to leave the camper on the truck full time so we are getting the camper without jacks and the dealership said that they will always have them available if we change our minds down the line. The camper comes in at around 1150 pounds with all of the options. We love camping on Forest Service roads throughout Washington and Oregon and we wanted a rig that would let us travel somewhat gnarly roads without having to get stuck. 

As for the truck, we pulled the trigger on a lightly used 2018 Chevy Colorado with a 3.6L V6 gas engine, the crew cab and the long 6' bed. After speaking with the camper dealership we are getting Firestone Ride Rite airbags installed, a set of E rated tires and lifting the truck by 2" to accommodate the larger tires and give us added ground clearance. The truck dealership is ordering these parts right now and they said we could still change our order if we  need to change our specs. 

My questions for the community as a whole are:

1) Does this seem like a safe setup? It seems like many Fleet campers on a mid-size truck (Tacoma, Colorado, etc.) are likely to exceed their payload when you take into account passengers, water, and gear. 

2) Is there anything you would do differently with the truck?