• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jet noise

Jet noise

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 June 2019 - 05:18 PM

Hey all. I’m new to truck campers but here’s my setup: 2018 Ram 2500 Cummins, Northstar TC 650, and a Jeep on a trailer weighing #7K. Total package is #17K with everything attached. The truck has the airlift bag setup, and factory front and rear sway bar. Torklift frame mounted tie downs and springload XL turnbuckles. Also have power stop brake upgrades on the way. I’ve read a bit about the Hellwig sway bars, and unsure if I should buy one. So far I have no complaints about the ride or the handling, and I’m not going to Offroad the truck and camper besides gravel/forest service roads. I’m planning a cross country trip next month and I just want to make sure I have the right upgrades. Would I benefit from the Hellwig sway bar? Appreciate your expertise!

#2 Wandering Sagebrush

Wandering Sagebrush

Free Range Human

• Site Team
  • 10,575 posts
  • LocationNortheast Oregon

Posted 24 June 2019 - 07:11 PM

My F350 did not have sway bars, so I added a Hellwig Bigwig and Firestone air bags. They made a big difference, but my camper is a big hardside, and pushing 4000 pounds when loaded.

If you have no complaints about how your truck handles now, I’d save the money and stick with what you have.

I am haunted by waters

#3 buckland

buckland

• Members
  • 3,078 posts
  • LocationNew England

Posted 24 June 2019 - 08:42 PM

Agreed. The truck has a rear seat bar and if handling is good on curves.. no sway... then you are good to go. I hour a Hellwig on my truck and it helped a lot but I have a high center of gravity.

2016 Duramax 2.8 Diesel long bed Colorado 4WD with 2011 Eagle

Lordwoodcraft  instagram        Rob
The only people who ever get anyplace interesting are the people who get lost.
Henry David Thoreau
"Work to achieve not to acquire"

#4 Jet noise

Jet noise

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 June 2019 - 08:01 PM