22 replies to this topic

#1 Lighthawk

Lighthawk

Weekend warrior

• Members
  • 3,319 posts
  • LocationNevada City, CA

Posted 17 March 2014 - 04:23 AM

We're interested in buying a pair of radios for personal use.  Probably don't need more than 10+ miles actual range, but would be interested in learning reasons to go for more.  Disclosure:  I have very little experience with radios and have never owned one.

I did a search on WTW and didn't see this discussed previously, or so google tells me.

I wonder if we could have a thread called :

Walkie Talkie Thread

Who is using FRS handheld radios out there? 

What system did you buy and what features do you like / dislike?

*edit- USB rechargeable preferred!

Thank you for anyone who can chime in.

:)

Edited by Lighthawk, 17 March 2014 - 04:26 AM.

2021 RAM 3500 Crew 4x4, 6.4 hemi/8 speed trans with 4.10 gears, Timber Grove bags, Falken Wildpeak 35" tires.

OEV Aluma 6.75 flatbed, Bundutec Odyssey camper on order for 2024

For this year we're still using our 2008 FWC Hawk with victron DC-DC charger, 130w solar, MPPT controler

with 2000w inverter and external 120v output and 12v solar input with 100w portable solar.   http://lighthawkphoto.com

#2 ntsqd

ntsqd

Custom User Title

• Members
  • 2,881 posts
  • LocationNorth So.CA

Posted 17 March 2014 - 03:06 PM

Conveniently your choices are FRS and GMRS. A little less convenient is cb, and even less so is ham - particularly the 2 meter & 440 bands. Of the 5 options, GRMS, and the two ham bands require a license and all but cb are FM radios.