#1 Colorado CJ

Colorado CJ

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 15 June 2015 - 03:14 AM

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if there were any film shooters here.  I am a long time digital photographer, but over the past two years or so, have found myself lured into film.  First with 35mm, then quickly onto medium format and for the past year or so, large format 4x5.

Its never been cheaper getting into shooting film since so many are selling their gear SO cheap.  I bought a Mamiya RB67 Pro S medium format camera with 2 lenses and backs for $150.00.  Just a few short years ago the kit would be worth in the thousands.  I also have a complete darkroom set up with a 35mm enlarger and a 4x5 professional enlarger (Omega D5xl with color head).  The whole darkroom set me back $200.00!

Anyway, I am now heavily into shooting large format film.  My D600 rarely makes it on my hikes in the high country now.

Edited by Colorado CJ, 15 June 2015 - 03:16 AM.

#2 Bigfoot

Bigfoot

• Members
  • 222 posts
  • LocationOregon

Posted 15 June 2015 - 03:49 AM

Good for you! 

I last shot film in 1996. Still have some unexposed rolls of 35mm film in a drawer and several old cameras that probably leak light like crazy. The weight, wait, chemicals and lack of control have kept me from going back to film. Not to mention the thousands of slides from decades ago that I need to review so I can scan a few. 

I have met a couple of wedding photographers who supplement digital with medium format film. And I know a few lomography fans on-line.Then there are the landscape pros such as Oregon's Bruce Jackson who use large format film. 

On a side note, I have rented a Fuji X100 camera twice because it is fun to use and has some killer film simulations without the film fuss. Fuji has the digital film look figured out. I know, not the same as real film, but it is pretty good to my eye. I particularly like the high contrast monochrome which suits many landscapes.