• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Idahomauledriver

Idahomauledriver

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 December 2015 - 09:51 PM

Hi I am a newbie and this is my first post.

I recently purchased a Hawk that will be installed on my 2005 3/4 ton Dodge diesel right after the first of the year. In anticipation of the install I called my local mechanic shop and spec'ed out an airbag system. I specifically asked for  Firestone after doing some research which included this forum. I dropped the truck off on Monday and picked it up today and after looking at the box I realized they had installed an Air Lift system.

Does anyone have any experience with this brand ? I looked at a few reviews on the internet and most purchasers rate it 4 to 4.5 stars out of 5. So it is getting good ratings.

I would appreciate any input anyone might have as to the Air Lift Brand before I push the nuclear button at the mechanics.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Stalking Light

Stalking Light

Feral Grandpa

• Members
  • 1,481 posts
  • LocationLand of grits and gravy

Posted 30 December 2015 - 09:57 PM

I had initially had Air Lift bags on my Tacoma but the first install they used the wrong kit and their attempts to fix it with the correct kit also failed so they ended up putting Firestone bags on, which have worked fine since. 

If you asked for Firestone and they installed Air Lift I would complain, especially if they charged you for Firestone which are a bit more expensive, I think.

Charlie...
Stalking Light
2014 FWC Eagle on 2015 Tacoma Quad Cab Long Bed

#3 Argonaut20

Argonaut20

• Members
  • 432 posts

Posted 30 December 2015 - 10:07 PM

The Air Lift bags I had on an older Tacoma worked fine, but they didn't do well on the 2006 Tacoma. I replaced them with Firestones and have had no problems since. I agree that, if you specified Firestone, that is what should be on there.

2006 Tacoma, '66 AS Caravel,  2002 Eagle

#4 Cayuse

Cayuse

• Members
  • 771 posts