Photo

Restoring a 68 Siesta Pop-up and getting it to fit a newer style truck.

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 68 Siesta

68 Siesta

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • LocationSouth Jordan, Utah

Posted 30 May 2016 - 12:57 AM

I've been pestered by a couple wtw members to start a thread on the restoration of my 1968 Siesta hard side popup and the mods I have made to get it to better fit the newer truck. Its been a project I have been working on for several years now. I first got the camper in 2002 and camped in it for about 7 years without any other work than routine maintenance. If there is interest in seeing anything I don't include a picture of, I'll try to get something uploaded. I'm not very good at taking progress pictures because I hate to stop working and pick up the camera.

When I first acquired the camper it was sitting on a 1987 F250.

4 28 2015 018

When the camper got to the stage of "junk it or fix it" I chose to fix it. I tediously tore off all the contact paper on the inside walls and repainted, put in a new floor and countertop, built drawers where a hanging closet used to be, added a freshwater and battery monitor and 12 volt power source, and painted the outside to match my old truck. Again, I'm horrible at progress pictures, but here are some shots of the final product. 

DSCF2188
IMG 3054
IMG 3049
IMG 3037

#2 68 Siesta

68 Siesta

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 30 May 2016 - 12:57 AM

I upgraded trucks a couple years ago which required a number of modifications to get the camper to fit the truck. Most importantly, the camper was too wide at the tailgate to fit the newer Fords so I had to narrow the backend about 3 inches. Luckily there was some closet space that I could take it from. Unfortunately, I didn't have the foresight then to take pictures of that project.