56 replies to this topic

#1 Happyjax

Happyjax

• Members
  • 1,444 posts
  • LocationMaryland

Posted 15 March 2017 - 11:55 AM

Hello all,

As many of you know I have been wandering this wonderful site for several years now. I am closing in on my plans for a camper and have been trying to decide my approach to the issue. As for the truck 3/4 ton is my thought at the moment but 1 ton is not out of the picture.....

I am still trying to decide on 6 3/4 bed vs 8ft with an extended cab. Anybody absolutely hate the turning radius on their 8 ft and if you were buying again would you go for the shorter bed or anyone wish they had gone bigger?

I read many threads about problems with the water system, freezing, pump failures, tank water tasting funny, and I wonder if there are more than a couple folks who have gone with the simple concept of water jugs, gravity and portable sink receptacle.

I am wondering how likely a failure in the water pump system is and how hard it would be to fix.

If I am boondocking and the pump fails or my house battery is to low am I screwed or can you get water out of the tank with no pump?

Many of the water heaters heat 3-6 gallons of water when I would rarely need more than 1. I would think heating a gallon on the stove would be more practical but the water heater might be more energy efficient?

I like the concept of a basically self working shower system such as the road shower, thanks for showing me that Squatch, which under decent circumstances will heat the water and deliver a shower without using anything but mother nature and when she doesn't cooperate a kettle on the stove should fill the bill. Anyone else using that system or something similar and what do you think?

Anyone use a water purification system for the water you get from available sources on the road?