Photo

wind noise while driving with truck camper?

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 doublebanzai

doublebanzai

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 18 April 2017 - 05:48 AM

i'm a total newbie - actually, not even a newbie, as i don't even have a camper... but i am thinking of getting one, and have looked at pop ups, hard sides, etc.

i'm picturing driving for long distances at highway speed in a truck, and with a camper on top, is there a lot of added noise? and if so, how to mitigate that. i like peace and quiet when i'm driving, sometimes listen to books on tape, etc --- a lot or even noticeably louder noise might be pretty irksome.

thanks! some gr8 ideas in these forums, which i discovered today.

#2 PaulT

PaulT

Need gumbo

• Members
  • 2,611 posts
  • LocationHillsboro, Oregon

Posted 18 April 2017 - 06:41 AM

Buy a Tundra and keep windows rolled up. Very quiet. :)
Just kidding. Don't notice any noise due to camper. If any window is open, there is wind noise, of course.

Paul
I thought getting old would take longer.

#3 Cayuse

Cayuse

• Members
  • 771 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ

Posted 18 April 2017 - 12:50 PM

With my Tundra-Grandby combo I had a lot of wind noise from about 30-50some mph.  Put a wind deflector on the cab and voila wind noise is all but gone.  A big part of it will be dependent on the gap between the cab and the camper overhang.

2002 Grandby, 2008 Tundra Double Cab
Off Road Utility Trailer
Not enough time to go exploring.

#4 Stalking Light

Stalking Light

Feral Grandpa

• Members
  • 1,481 posts
  • LocationLand of grits and gravy

Posted 18 April 2017 - 01:03 PM

I have a faring on my Tacoma/Eagle and that reduced the noise but it wasn't that bad to begin with. The only time I really noticed was when I forgot to buckle to top down and then drove off.  :o

Charlie...
Stalking Light
2014 FWC Eagle on 2015 Tacoma Quad Cab Long Bed

#5 Bosque Bill

Bosque Bill

• Members
  • 743 posts