21 replies to this topic

#1 Longbeard87

Longbeard87

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 05 June 2017 - 11:28 AM

I am a noob with a new fleet. I am a little confused on how the separator works. At what voltage do you say "time to start the truck" and charge a bit? If I understood my dealer correctly, when it gets too low it will disconnect the batteries and I will have to use "shore power" to charge and then manually reset the separator. Thanks for any help / advice.

#2 kmcintyre

kmcintyre

• Members
  • 1,382 posts
  • LocationBoise, ID

Posted 05 June 2017 - 12:23 PM

If it works like my BlueSeas version, you don't really have to do anything.  The only issue is if you run the battery too low, it will not allow the camper battery to charge; it thinks there is an issue w/ the camper battery.  The separate (as the name implies) only allows charging in one direction so you don't discharge the main battery.  It will also turn of the charge when the battery is at some thereshold so it doesn't overcharge.

Boise, ID

2022 Chevy 3500 HD

2023 FWC Flatbed Hawk

#3 paulclancy

paulclancy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
  • LocationNorthern Vermont

Posted 05 June 2017 - 02:52 PM

When we picked up our fleet at the dealer in April, they advised to keep on eye on the zamp solar charge controller. The separator kicks in when the readout gets down to about 12.4.  I've parked for up to a week in the garage (out of the sun) with the kill switch out and have never seen the zamp go below 12.7.

Now my question - how do you (or do you) manually reset the separator ?

#4 DavidO

DavidO

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 05 June 2017 - 03:15 PM

To find out how the sure power battery separator works you should look at the manual. FWC has many manuals on their web site here is the one for the battery separator; http://www.fourwh.co...arator1315.pdf the model is 1314 and the 2 options (8+9) are not used.