• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Puma

Puma

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 April 2018 - 01:19 AM

I am new to overland travel and need an ABC primer on how to chose a truck and camper. I am looking for a rig for domestic and overseas mild to moderate 4x4 terrain use for extended one to two month trips for my wife and myself. I have looked at the 8 foot Alaskan Camper and the 6.5 FW Hawk and a Ram 2500 4x4 Crew Cab long bed gasser 6.4 V8 automatic. 

Two big differences between the Alaskan Camper and the FW Hawk is wood versus aluminum structure and the weight difference. But what are the pros and cons between wood and metal structures and which is more durable for off road use? 

As for the right truck I have plenty of unanswered questions: a. Is a crew cab long bed too big of a truck for overland use (longer turning radius)? b. How important is manual vs automatic transmission for off road travel? c. What kind of custom truck work needs to be considered (lifting, air bags, tires, sway bars, recovery gear etc.) d. Should I consider the Ram Power Wagon options? and e. If the truck needs to be shipped in a container what is the maximized container size? 

What sources are out there with these types of information ( magazine, website, books etc? ) for the beginner?
Thanks

#2 CougarCouple

CougarCouple

• Members
  • 1,376 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas

Posted 15 April 2018 - 01:19 PM

These might be good places to start. I'm not a world traveler, but seems like I read some where about shipping and how important the size was, not to mention all the documents needed. Also if I was going to a very cold place I'd want an Alaskan. Any where else light weight FWC or ATC
Best of luck to ya.

https://www.truckcam...s/world-travel/

https://www.truckcam...ewbie-articles/

Russ
F250 extended cab, Cougar from ATC. You guys rock thank you!

#3 JCatt

JCatt

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • LocationFort Wayne IN