#1 BigRanchInSky

BigRanchInSky

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 05 January 2019 - 07:17 PM

Hello, I'm new and excited to join discussions. This site is gold, pure gold, especially for newbies like me, and I'm learning so much so quick, Thank you for all your input!

My story: After years of envy, my wife and I finally ordered a Hawk from Denny S/RM FWC and will pick it up near the end of March '19. 

I have no truck and no truck experience. But I have to start somewhere.

Sorry to beat a dead horse, but which truck are you running and how do you feel about it's capabilities? What do experienced owners recommend?

We plan to go offload with this rig, so I want a 4x4 truck that can handle most light duty offroad use and occasionally be asked to some medium-level terrain navigation—but I'm not planning on any super serious maneuvering.

Here is what Denny @ FWC is telling me about weight, payload and truck choice:

This camper would be around 1300lbs dry, so you will be adding 26 gallons of water, 5 gallons of propane, 2 people, dogs, food, gear, beer, etc.. So yes, when all said and done, you will be about 2000lbs. I would look at any 3/4 ton pickup so RAM 2500, Ford F-250 or Chevy 2500. If your going to do a half ton truck, I would go with F-150 and order it with a heavy payload package.

Easy enough, but like most city slickers I really love the dependability of Totyotas, So I'm seriously considering a Toyota Tundra, but I I looked at the max payload and it's 1,600#. A couple of people here seem to be very happy with a Tundra, but they've all done modifications to the back suspension to make the rear stronger. Is loading an additional ~500# going to be a little risky? or lot risky? And will it wear out a ton quicker being overloaded? Am I taking a risk when it comes to insurance bc I'm re-tooling out of the stock rated payload?