• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 WjColdWater

WjColdWater

• Members
  • 401 posts
  • LocationIL

Posted 26 October 2019 - 12:35 AM

Opinions on this chip on the passenger side. I have no experience with chip repair. This chip has short cracks that will probably grow this winter. Will the fill repair stop the crack from growing? How invisible will the repair be? Option #2 just replace the windshield? 

3-B3735-D7-B115-4-F85-A80-B-3-B0-BD28-C1
Wayne

#2 WjColdWater

WjColdWater

• Members
  • 401 posts
  • LocationIL

Posted 26 October 2019 - 09:35 AM

I have three different chip repairs on one Ford F-150 front window and no problems.  The repair guys told me the "crack" should be less than 1/2" for a 99% success rate and less than 3/4" for a 75% success rate.  They said they do not repair a crack over 1".  My 3/4" repair worked and they said they would refund my money if the repair failed.  My window repairs each cost $50 +/- while a new window was around $300.

Thanks for the information. Probably try the repair first. Heading to your state fishing this week. 
Wayne

#3 Advmoto18

Advmoto18

• Members
  • 1,083 posts
  • LocationCoastal Low Country, SC

Posted 26 October 2019 - 12:15 PM

USAA offers free chip repair through Safety Lite Glass Company which I have used about 6 times.  Twice, I have had the windshield replaced due to larger chips/cracks.

Each time, I was told by the Safety Lite repair technician, most chips can be repaired if damaged area is less than the diameter of a US Quarter.  A larger sized chip can sometimes be repaired but in most cases, cracking ("spider webbing") will begin to occur.

Wayne, I think you're looking at a replacement based on my past experiences.  If your insurance carrier doesn't offer free repair, I would just put the coin towards a new windshield.

Edited by Advmoto18, 26 October 2019 - 12:18 PM.

South Carolina Low Country.  

#4 ardvark

ardvark

• Members
  • 163 posts