• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 57Pan

57Pan

• Members
  • 118 posts
  • LocationWashington

Posted 01 February 2020 - 04:52 PM

I’m pretty new to all this stuff. Planning a trip in April to North Rim of Grand Canyon from southwest Washington. Hoping not to travel anymore than 4-500 miles a day to get there.
How to you go about planning on where to stay each night any special apps? Special ideas on route planning? Anyway just tossing it out there on how people plan there trips.

#2 Wallowa

Wallowa

Double Ought

• Members
  • 2,173 posts
  • LocationNE Oregon

Posted 01 February 2020 - 05:50 PM

Others will give you better advice than this, but for getting there:

#1  Take more time for the trip than you expect to.  Don't rush to get anywhere; "enjoy the ride".

#2  I avoid frwys and heavy populated areas, bad for the nerves. Again, slow down and soak up the experience.

#3  Plan your overnight stops based on camping sites that meet your criteria.  For us, it is, no traffic, no neighbors and dark nights.  Dispersed camping sites in the boondocks are our first choice.

Destinations:

#1  Do searches online and cross-reference what is said about each location you wish to visit.  How much hype, how much reality. We also have a ton of books covering the areas we are interested in.

#2  Are these locations open and available in your time frame.  Consider weather and optional destinations.

#3  Don't try to "see too much" [a shortcoming of mine..] but rather plan kick-back time and several days at one location exploring.

SW Washington?  Well that means you at some level are exposed to a population glut of hypertensive folks....so plan on taking your favorite libation to decompress once on the road!