10 replies to this topic

#1 Smokecreek1

Smokecreek1

Smokecreek1

• Members
  • 2,758 posts
  • LocationNE Calif/NW Nev

Posted 26 February 2020 - 03:58 PM

Something just happened to me that could really mess up some future "WTWing", so  I thought I'd pass along this story  to the WTW gang.

On Monday, I got a letter here to my PO Box here in California from some law firm/collection outfit in Texas saying that they had been contracted to collect  some overdue traffic fines (speeding in a construction zone and no valid registration) from some town in Florida in the amount of $900.00 or so bucks and if I did not pay "forthwith" a traffic warrant could be issued for my arrest and I could possibly lose my drivers license! What,  well # 1, I've never been in that town in Florida before in my life and #2,  I  have been to Florida (on the other coast)once in my life and that was in 1969. Okay, is this some type of scam or something or should I be worried. I'm no lawyer, but I know that if some traffic warrant is issued and I am stopped out WTWing somewhere for a bad tail light or something, I could have a bad real bad day!  I checked the internet and both the town and law firm were listed,  so I called up some law enforcement friends here in town and they said I had better contact the local LE and check to see if there are any scams out and about-but what ever I do, do not ignore this! Stopped by the local PD and no such scam was know to be around, but, "yes"  call the traffic court or law firm and clear this up!