• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Bill D

Bill D

• Members
  • 981 posts
  • LocationEdmonton, Alberta, Canada

Posted 11 March 2020 - 01:58 AM

I looked through the posts but didn't find what I was looking for,  I found more on the 3.5L.  Anyhow... I'm looking at a F150 regular cab short box and was wondering what you guys/girls think of the 2.7L Ecoboost.  The 3.5L is not an option in the regular cab short box.

I drove both the 5.0 and the 2.7L and I was extremely impressed with the 2.7L but it's tough to tell what it would be like with a 1400lb camper on full-time.

Anybody using the 2.7L as a daily driver with the camper on full time.  What are your thoughts.  I know I'd be happy with the 5.0L but the 2.7L is $3000 less and supposedly more fuel efficient.  I'm not sure if that's the case with a camper on it full time though.

I'm a very conservative driver.  I drive around 60-65 miles per hour on the highway and I have a fairly soft foot in the city.

#2 Machinebuilder

Machinebuilder

• Members
  • 481 posts
  • LocationEast Tennessee

Posted 11 March 2020 - 03:33 PM

I have a 5.0, it is an awesome engine, I have not had any issues with it even at 10K' passes out west.

I know several people with the 2.7 Ecoboost and they all are happy with them and they seem to get 4-5mpg higher running empty in suburban driving, ~20mpg compared to 16-17mpg.

My mileage with the camper on is 14-16mpg.

People with the 3.5 Ecoboost tend to get lower mpg's then the 5.0.

I like the idea of forced induction at higher elevation. I also have given up the idea that you shouldn't rev an engine.

the small V6 will want to be reved higher to make the power under load, the 5.0 likes to rev also. Keep it serviced and it will outlast your desire to keep the truck.

I don't know how the F150 10 speed affects the feel and performance.

2021 F350 SCLB

FWC Grandby,

EBY Big Country Flatbed, Buckstop Outback front Bumper

Gabby (GSP), Sox (GSP/American Bulldog)