#1 BigRanchInSky

BigRanchInSky

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 29 March 2020 - 04:06 PM

Well, I'm itching to get my camping on, but staying put for now as per CDC guidelines, there's not much close by, I'd have to drive at least 1.5 hours away to camp right now=pretty cold in the Wasatch Mtns at present...the wife works in health care, so no go for me for now...so there's only one cure for that: Camper upgrades!

Today @ Costco they have a Coleman Solar panel on sale, $129 with free shipping, and I'm wondering how it could be integrated with the 2019 FWC Hawk. See the attached JPEG of the unit.

Since I'm a noob, of course I'd love to just plug the thing into the standard FWC solar extension plug (I believe my solar plug is on the rear of the camper) and away it goes...is there something I need to do before I plug it in? Keep the supplied controller or loose it? I have a 160 Watt system with 2x12V batteries, all stock from FWC as of 2019. I can probably handle finding the right plug adapter and hopefully get the polarity correctly identified when hooking up the plug leads, any info on that appreciated also.

Thank you in advance, I appreciate your ideas!

ColemanSolar_Costco.jpg

Edited by BigRanchInSky, 29 March 2020 - 04:13 PM.

#2 longhorn1

longhorn1

Ouch, that stings!

• Members
  • 2,826 posts
  • LocationCarmel, Indiana

Posted 29 March 2020 - 09:51 PM

Your solar plug on the rear of the camper should be wired directly to your solar controller. Therefore, your portable panel should not have a built in controller and you shouldn't use a portable panel with one. Our 2014 Grandby had 100W Zamp on the roof, with a Zamp controller. When I purchased a portable 80W Zamp panel, I had discussions with Zamp and FWC and they both confirmed the portable panel should not have a controller.

Edited by longhorn1, 29 March 2020 - 09:53 PM.

http://texaslonghorns01.blogspot.com/

Ford F-250 Long bed, 2014 Grandby