• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BMUS

BMUS

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 13 April 2020 - 12:40 AM

I am getting a Fleet shell for my 2004 Taco TRD. No suspension mods other than air bags. It sits at stock height/level. I know the height will vary a bit but, I am trying to get a ballpark idea on how high the camper door entrance is at the top of the door frame with a similar if not the same rig? If you have a look at the pic, this is what I have been doing for 20 years. I put the popup over the truck and the popup goes between the bed and cab with the walls and the entire back end of the truck is enclosed. I sleep in the shell and my table, coolers, etc are under the popup out of the elements.

Why I want the height? I would like to implement the same thing only now off of the back of the camper if possible. If I can get away from buying an ARB awning that saves me a few $.
My popup frame is about 6 feet and change high. Saw some great ideas on here for making a rain gutter to go between the two that attaches to the popup and camper. 
Truck Camping cropped.jpg

Edited by BMUS, 13 April 2020 - 01:00 AM.

#2 longhorn1

longhorn1

Ouch, that stings!

• Members
  • 2,826 posts
  • LocationCarmel, Indiana

Posted 13 April 2020 - 12:55 PM

Great idea. We have a 2014 Grandby on a 2013 F-250. I would guess the height of the backside of the camper is similar, but the truck height will be different. I will measure mine and let me know. We have the rear awning (seldom used unless we are going to be completely stationary for 3 or more days) 8' Flama awning, and a 5'x6' Clam Shelter. I always liked the idea of sightseeing for the day and back right up to something like yours. jd