Photo

How much truck camper is too much truck camper?

four wheel camper payload tires

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 underpowered

underpowered

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts
  • LocationVancouver, BC

Posted 03 July 2020 - 02:55 AM

Hello all! I am brand new to this thread and truck campers in general, BUT I BRING EXCITEMENT!

I have a very novice question for you all, sorry. I searched this thread a bit today, and I think I mostly understand, but I couldn't find a direct answer exactly, so here goes:

I have a compact truck (2006 ford ranger v6) with a 1200# payload (seems pretty standard for a compact truck). I see a lot of pictures on this forum and else where of FWC and ATC on compact trucks that I assume have a similar payload. Seems like with a modest amount of gear (two adults, bikes, dog, food, fuel, etc.) I would end up needing a camper that weighed 600 pounds to stay under payload. I understand that airbags and load rated tires are a must for these small trucks, but even that technically doesn't increase payload. So my question is: Are y'all just running over-full? What are the dangers of that? How much is too much?

#2 LuckyDan

LuckyDan

• Members
  • 644 posts
  • LocationBased in Eastern, NOW CENTRAL Oregon

Posted 03 July 2020 - 07:44 AM