• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 mtnbiker99

mtnbiker99

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 November 2020 - 05:09 PM

i'm fairly new to the truck camper and been doing a lot of reading on payload and such. From what i gather, it would appear some are just below the payload capacity . Any 1/2 ton owners with slide in (FWC, alasken, scout, etc) running way over their capacity?  

my setup:

2019 f150 platinum trim, diesel - payload as per sticker - 1300lbs

future camper + gear + bikes + passengers = 2500lbs (max)

GVWR - 7100lbs

i figure upgrading HD leaf springs, timbrem bumpstops, and E rated tires my help. Anything else?

aside from upgrading to 3/4 (currently exploring  those options), am i still fighting a losing battle here if i keep my f150 and spend $5K (estimate) on upgrades?

thanks everyone!

Edited by mtnbiker99, 24 November 2020 - 05:11 PM.

#2 Casa Escarlata Robles Too

Casa Escarlata Robles Too

C'est la vie

• Site Team
  • 9,283 posts
  • Locationmonterey bay area

Posted 24 November 2020 - 07:06 PM

mtnbiker99 welcome to the cult.

Your questions have been asked many times on the site.

There are it seems two camps. A lot of members have

1/2 ton trucks with FWC/ATC campers on them and minor

truck mods.Air bags,better springs,E rated tires.

Then there's the group that is the 3/4 ton side.Same mods mostly.

IMO it all comes down to your personal choice.

I personally have a 2002 Tundra TRD with a ATC Bobcat and rear air bags.

This combo fits my needs and I haven't had any issues.

You do have to keep in mind that what ever size truck you still have a load

on the truck and for the most part your handling/breaking will be different.

Continue to post your questions,there is a lot of great info posted on the site.

Frank

2002 Tundra AC TRD 4WD Limited 2009 ATC Bobcat loaded http://sharychic.blogspot.com/

#3 mtnbiker99

mtnbiker99

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 November 2020 - 09:16 PM