#1 ExplOregon

ExplOregon

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationBeaverton, OR

Posted 05 March 2021 - 03:59 AM

Hey Everyone,

Part of FWC's exterior LED package includes LED lights underneath the camper on each corner of the slide-in part of the camper. I'm thinking about DIY'ing up something myself since I didn't opt for that upgrade during my purchase.

I'm hearing good things about the Baja Designs Dome lights. Unlike the rock lights, they have buttons on them that allow you to turn them on and off directly from the light vs an interior switch. We have toddler and once she's down for the night, we do everything possible not to open the camper door until we're ready for bed so being able to control the lights from the outside is attractive.

Mounting the lights to the camper should be fairly straight forward, but I have a couple of question regarding the wiring. I'm a noob when it comes to wiring. My goal is the join/combine the 4 strands of wires coming from each corner light somehow so that only one strand of positive and negative wires has to go into the camper and to the battery.

Here are the questions:

1. What's the easiest way to combine/join/splice the four strands together? I've been thinking about trying to use/find a Wago style connector, but not sure it exists or if that's the best option. Not sure they're weatherproof. Although I guess that I could join them all internally and then route one pair of wires to the battery.
  2. How would you have the wires enter the camper? Where would you drill a hole? Would you not drill a hole? I have '19 Hawk Shell with furnace and side dinette. I was thinking coming directly into the battery box from the bottom or near where the wires come in from the connection that ultimately leads to the alternator.

Additional considerations/thoughts:

1. Amber or white LEDs? I'm leading towards amber since they deter bugs, but not sure amber will put off enough usable light.