18 replies to this topic

#1 Desert Tortoise

Desert Tortoise

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • LocationWatsonville, CA

Posted 31 March 2021 - 03:36 AM

I am  looking for a replacement furnace for my Atwood, something that will fit into the same space.

I love the Atwood but it is unreliable and repeated attempts to repair have me looking for a replacement.

I've researched several and am looking closely at Diesel Furnaces. A friend has a $150. Chinese one

that seems to work well.

Comments on these would be much appreciated.

thank you!

#2 PaulT

PaulT

Need gumbo

• Members
  • 2,601 posts
  • LocationHillsboro, Oregon

Posted 31 March 2021 - 04:43 AM

I have no personal experience with the Chinese diesel heaters but I have been reading about them. The only caveat I have read about for an interior installation is the ticking of the fuel pump. Outside, it may not be an issue but it is worth consideration if you are a light sleeper on a cold night.

Paul

I thought getting old would take longer.

#3 SkyP

SkyP

• Members
  • 112 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 31 March 2021 - 09:32 AM

I've used Webasto and Espar heaters in my Transit vans.   

The fuel pumps can be quite loud and are tough to silence- if that is even possible. 

The fuel pumps are typically mounted outside near the fuel source- still loud- can't imagine one inside.

Personally I am unwilling to trust a $150 heater with my life, hence the Webasto and Espars.

20 F150 4x4 18 ATC Panther

96 F350 4x4  99 FWC Grandby Shell (sold)

15 Aliner Scout

18 Camplite 16TBS

#4 Wandering Sagebrush

Wandering Sagebrush

Free Range Human

• Site Team
  • 10,528 posts
  • LocationNortheast Oregon

Posted 31 March 2021 - 02:17 PM

Wallas diesel heaters are very expensive, but reportedly a low current draw.  We used a Wallas cooktop/heater in our boat.

I am haunted by waters

#5 ski3pin

ski3pin

Belay On

• Site Team
  • 15,243 posts
  • LocationSierra Nevada Range

Posted 31 March 2021 - 02:23 PM