• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 HoppyToGoWandering

HoppyToGoWandering

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 07 April 2021 - 07:50 PM

I'm a newbie on this site and found it by happenstance. When I got out of the Army, I knew that I needed to "fluffy butt" camp. I have always liked pop-up's and since I got a boat, I knew that a slide-in was the only way to go. 3 weeks ago, 3/20/21, I was able to come across 1990 Jayco Sportster 7 and knew that I would have to restore it, which I was fully expecting and wanting. Was able to pick it up for $350! I could easily afford that. It will be placed on a 2010 Dodge Dakota Big Horn. This will be a long term ownership and not looking to "flip it".

The main areas that I will have to address is 1st will be clean-up and taking care of the mold. Will be looking forward to any recommendations in that area. Obviously, I'll have to take care of the sources of where the water is coming from into the camper. 

2nd is the roof, but its still usable. Apparently, the roof decided that it wanted to learn how to fly while going down the road one day. The recent owner & his father were able to redo it but due to the way it was stored it needs to be redone due to snowload and rain. Looking at it I'll need to remove all of the existing components and totally reframed and insulated. Not sure what I'll use but was told it was done with 2 X 4's. I plan to use foam board for insulation and will use LED lighting, especially due to amperage draw. The top will need to totally scrub down, remove the molding groove & replace with all new, replace all the corner molding, etc. I plan to repaint and use something along the lines of Flex Seal but geared towards RV roofs. I will follow up later mounting solar panels later.