5 replies to this topic

#1 Dr.Science

Dr.Science

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 29 April 2021 - 03:19 AM

I recently acquired not only my first Alaskan, but my first truck camper, and it's been quite an education, sort of a case of drinking from a fire hose. I thought I should catalog the experience for the benefit of other newbies and to give the greybeards a chance to correct my misteaks.

BC (Before camper)

I've been sleeping out in the bush for over 60 years, so there's not much I don't know about camping. However, as the years wear on the body wears out, so in 2015 I bought a Chevy Astro and outfitted it with a bed for the wife and I, and for 5 years we camped quite happily in the Chevy, logging travels for maybe 2 months of the year. In 2020 my wife Bonnie started to express displeasure with the level of comfort the Astro provides, and we decided that we needed a home where we could stand up, sit at a table, cook indoors, be warm on icy winter mornings, and generally enjoy a few well-deserved comforts. However we also wanted to retain our ability to travel rough and rocky roads to empty lands in places like Utah and Yukon, Nayarit and Nevada, and hang out there for as long as we care. So that left us with a 4WD vehicle, high clearance, probably a truck camper, and a low C of G so we could keep the rubber on the bottom. That meant a pop-up camper, and a little further review led me to Alaskan, partly because it's a very well designed and built machine, but also because I love old stuff and good woodworking and things that hold their value for good reasons. But first I needed a truck. COVID had hit a few months earlier and trucks, as well as Alaskans, were suddenly both scarce and expensive. So it took quite a bit of searching, but in March 2021 I acquired a 2013 Silverado 2500 with only 62K miles and in great shape, so then I detailed the Astro and sold it for a great price. When I got home from the Astro sale with $8K burning