64 replies to this topic

#1 BryanToyFWC

BryanToyFWC

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • LocationDenver

Posted 23 July 2021 - 08:12 PM

I’ve been reading everything on this forum regarding batteries. You all sound beyond knowledgeable.

I’m not an electrician, so you all are making my head spin. Im handy in a way that I can take stuff apart and figure out mostly anything, but electrical stuff has never sunk in.

I recently scored a 2017 Hawk, side dinette, solar, Zamp controller, 2xAGM 12V batteries (group 24), big fridge (non propane). Well cared for rig, super sweet. I have not changed or updated any of the components of the Hawk, so think everything is original.

It’s riding on a 2021 Tundra Limited with Firestone airbags.

I think my batteries need replacing. When we wake up in the morning, the fridge compressor is cycling through the low voltage protection, zamp controller is reading 10V. When the sun comes up the controller reading climbs, fridge cycles less, and in full sun we are back to 13v plus. Run the water pump and lights flicker a little during this time. My impression is that the 4-5 year old batteries are done.

With that said, I can’t decide between AGM and Lithium. AGM would be an easy swap. Lithium is intriguing for longevity and weight. With Lithium I have absolutely no idea if I need to update more of the electrical components (Iota 30/IQ4, Battery Link ACR, etc). I have no idea if I need new components.

What I really need is for a non technical summary of going Lithium and what if any I need to add and/or replace.

Help!

#2 rando

rando

• Members
  • 1,638 posts
  • LocationColorado

Posted 23 July 2021 - 11:56 PM