Photo

My 2009 Hawk needs some love: best battery?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Hydro

Hydro

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 June 2022 - 12:22 AM

Hi there! New to the forum and excited that WTW covers four-wheel pop ups! I have a 2009 Hawk that has had no upgrades or much maintenance since I bought it in 2009 and I'm a total NOOB at camper stuff. It needs a new battery, but not sure what type I should get since it appears as if lithium batteries are somewhat "newer" (?) technology. Is lithium the way to go, or are the old lead-acid batteries still a decent option? Any info or links to good batteries would be most welcome...Thanks!

PS. Would eventually like to get a portable solar kit (too lazy to mount and wire). Something like a 140-watt Zamp solar Legacy Series:

https://www.amazon.c...,aps,145&sr=8-1

Would battery choice make a difference based on solar panel use?

#2 Wandering Sagebrush

Wandering Sagebrush

Free Range Human

• Site Team
  • 10,576 posts
  • LocationNortheast Oregon

Posted 21 June 2022 - 02:10 AM

Hello, Hydro!  Welcome to WTW!

I’m not the best on electrical systems, but I’m sure you’ll get good feedback from others.

I am haunted by waters

#3 Vic Harder

Vic Harder

Doctor Electric

• Site Team
  • 4,950 posts
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted 21 June 2022 - 05:58 AM

if your battery lasted from 2009 until now, well.... wow.  That's awesome.  Buy another just like it and be happy.  Going Lithium could be a lot more complicated... 

#4 m5040

m5040

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationCT

Posted 21 June 2022 - 10:57 AM

Are there any post that cover this topic so the old school campers can understand better on what advantages/disadvantages are involved with changing from lead-acid to ?

My battery is getting kind of weak...

s-l1600.jpg

#5 TacomaAustin

TacomaAustin

• Members
  • 171 posts
  • LocationAustin, Texas

Posted 21 June 2022 - 01:36 PM