#1 RallyRock

RallyRock

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 23 October 2022 - 02:27 AM

Hi Everyone,

Im new to the forum, but I’ve been reading for the last year or so.  First of all, great site and you all really helped me make some decisions. Without boring you with my story, I’ll just say that my journey started about six years ago with an interest in truck campers and gettin out on the open road. Been traveling for work internationally and now I want to give my beautiful country the attention it deserves.

About three years ago bought a Ram 2500 6.4L with about 2900 lb payload. It’s a beast and I love it but I am pretty limited on TCs if I don’t want to push it to the limit. That leads me to where I am today because about a month ago I took delivery of a brand new Hawk Side Dinette. It’s fantastic, leaves me headroom for payload and my wife loves it as well. 

Couple things I’m still learning and struggling to understand though.  The Furnace and learning how to use my fridge better so it doesn’t eat up my battery.

For the fridge, At the beach with sun I’m cool and it gets plenty of power. But recently camped at elevation with too much shade and I saw my battery voltmeter dropping below 12.6 first night.  I thought that you didn’t want to get that low so I just shut the fridge off and we used coolers for the most part. I’m setup with a 160w Solar panel and 2x6 volt batteries and was looking into a portable solar panel for the next time. What am I doing wrong here?  FYI, I did charge for a couple nights on shore power and I put cold drinks inside to start the weekend, but seems like I ran out of juice too quickly.