• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 olypilot

olypilot

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 March 2023 - 09:25 PM

I have the ability to store my camper indoors with the top either up or down.  Is there an advantage of one over the other?  It seems that long term it would be better for the vinyl not to be folded in on itself, but I am not an expert.  I have purchased 303 to keep the vinyl in good condition.

Thanks

#2 Utah

Utah

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 13 March 2023 - 09:39 PM

I don’t think there is a significant reason for one over the other. I prefer to store with the roof raised. Possibly the gas lift assist struts may be happier being extended.

#3 Jon R

Jon R

• Members
  • 928 posts
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 13 March 2023 - 11:02 PM

I also have a dolly and tall garage. I don’t think the answer is obvious. There’s the long term folding concern you identified, but minimizing UV and ozone exposure is important too. Finally, making sure it is good and dry inside and out before you store it down to prevent mold and mildew is critical. I generally start the storage period with it up for a week or two, and then keep it down unless I need it up for some reason.

Edited by Jon R, 13 March 2023 - 11:40 PM.

Jon R

2021 Grandby Slide-in Front Dinette

2021 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW Gas

1993 Chevrolet K2500 Ext Cab LB

#4 ckent323

ckent323

• Members
  • 1,227 posts
  • LocationSolvang, CA

Posted 14 March 2023 - 02:21 AM

I second the UV concern.

Store it closed outside unless you can cover it, particularly the vinyl windows, if you can cover it or if you can store it inside with top up then best to store it with top up.  A friend of mine has an early 1980's Keystone with original soft side material still in good shape.  He always stores it inside with top up to minimize permanent creasing of the material.