10 replies to this topic

#1 Toytaco_2000

Toytaco_2000

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 06 April 2023 - 06:48 PM

Hey everyone I’m new to owning Four Wheel Campers as I previously have a Palomino. I’m interested in trying to buy a 86’ Grandby I found in my area. It’s cheaper and I get why but I have a carpenter here as well as a welder so I’m not too helpless and I love renovating the camper to some degree. I put in the hard work so I’m not scared of that however I want to make sure it’s a good counter balance for investment. We’re looking at $2500 for the camper. According to the owner all of the accessories work water, power, propane.

My question is with the rot that seems evident in the front two corners, how does the structure of the camper work to replace any of the wood/roof situation?

Also any tips on things to triple check when I look at it would be great! These are the pictures from the seller. You can see in the front two panels the black dry rot.

Attached Thumbnails

• 9CCCB47C-2B1B-47EE-AEFE-BF1CF91CCF28.jpeg

Edited by Toytaco_2000, 06 April 2023 - 06:54 PM.

#2 BBZ

BBZ

• Members
  • 666 posts
  • LocationGolden, CO

Posted 06 April 2023 - 07:52 PM

Well.. its a project, but if you are up for it, it will be worth it.. (see my signature for a rebuild of a similar year Grandby). 

Personally, I have rebuilt 2 basically from the frame (the second one had good siding so I just painted it). 

My advice is decide what you want to do first. If its going to be a full rebuild, just take the top off and make everything easier to work on.  

I would call myself a novice carpenter at best and if I can do it, anyone can.. Good luck

2023 F-150 Scab HDPP + 2013 Grandby Shell +

https://www.wanderth...ect-90s-granby/

#3 Toytaco_2000

Toytaco_2000

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 06 April 2023 - 08:50 PM

Cool thanks so much for the input appreciate it!