#1 lost in space

lost in space

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • LocationS.F. East Bay

Posted 28 April 2011 - 11:28 PM

Hello,

I am new to the world of truck campers and just got a 1996 Alaskan cabover. I have it on a 1997 Dodge 2500. The camper sits low in the truck, touching the tops of the side walls of the bed. Then when I open the truck door, I have about 1/2 inch max of clearance between the door and the bottom of the cabover. Is the camper sitting too low and should I put in 2 x 4's to raise it a little bit?

thanks

#2 Barko1

Barko1

• Members
  • 1,635 posts
  • LocationSouthern Appalachians

Posted 28 April 2011 - 11:47 PM

I used to do the 2x4 routine but I found that a sheet or two of 4x8 blue rigid insulation works great. It must cushion things a bit, provides 32 sq' of insulation, camper hasn't loosened at all, and easy :)
Granby on an F250 in S. NM

#3 Rusty

Rusty

• Members
  • 929 posts
  • LocationSanta Rosa, Calif

Posted 29 April 2011 - 02:18 PM

Welcome and congratulations on your find...

Build your frame out of 2x4's to the size of the bottom of the camper...with 1 or 2 2x4 stretchers between the sides (that way your floor is supported)...then fill the centers of the frame with the rigid insulation as suggested by Barko. Once the camper is mounted on the frame you can shim the bed walls of the truck to meet the bottom of the camper. That way there will be support under the sides of the camper when you tie it down and lessens the sway when you get on a rougher road.

If you're going to be loading and unloading the camper often you may find it convenient to attach the side shims and the frame to the camper with screws and a sheet of 1/4 ply to hold in the insulation....a little polyurethane adhesive will come in handy as well.

Have fun..

2003 Ford 250 Superduty Crew.... 7.3L PowerStroke diesel 1970 10" NCO Alaskan Firestone airbags pulling a 18' Silver Streak runabout

#4 lost in space

lost in space

• Members
  • PipPip