Photo
- - - - -

Just getting started, what accessories do I need?

fwc newbie accessories truck camper

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 wfscot

wfscot

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, UT

Posted 12 March 2014 - 04:59 PM

I'm just getting started in the world of overland travel with a 2005 Dodge Ram diesel and a new FWC Hawk.  I'm trying to get the basic accessories together and I was hoping to get some insight from the community here.

BTW, the goal is to be able to do lengthy (1 week+ outings consisting of a mix of established and primitive camping).  The camper has dual deep cycle batteries and we plan on adding a solar system in the near future.  We are used to camping, and thus have a good handle on cooking stuff, food, etc.

Here's what I've got so far.  Note the questions for some of the items:

- 5 gal collapsable tank and hose for sink waste water (already have)

- Hose system for both filling water tank and connecting to city water

- How long should the hose be to work in most situations?

- What fitting(s) should I have for the far end of the hose?

- Pressure regulator for city water

- Funnel for filling tanks manually

- Extension cord for charging on the road and shore power.  Again, how long?

- Are there any adapters necessary to plug into shore power and RV sites?

- Collapsable step stool to access roof (we have a rack system up there)

- Cleaning supplies

- Bleach for disinfecting waste water tank.  Is this the way to do it?

- Tub for soapy water when cleaning dishes (to save water)

- Cleaning wipes (already have)

- Utility microfiber towels (already have)

- Electrical

- Small inverter (already have, for laptop)

- 12V USB chargers (already have, for cell phones and small electronics)

- General accessories

- Basic tools

- Headlamps (pretty much always have in our climbing gear)

I'm sure I'm missing something, though.  Any guidance is much appreciated!