37 replies to this topic

#1 Amyinaz

Amyinaz

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • LocationFlagstaff AZ

Posted 25 July 2014 - 05:14 AM

I'm a newbie to truck camping and this site so first, thanks to everyone for the info, experiences, and inspiration shared here! We just got a used hawk shell and are working out the install for it.

My question -- what, if anything, is under your camper? In other threads I've seen references to plywood, bed mats, and closed cell insulation. Our camper is a good fit so we don't need to raise it. But I'm curious if you're placing something under the camper to improve performance (reduce movement, add cushioning, etc)?

#2 MarkBC

MarkBC

The Weatherman

• Site Team
  • 6,600 posts
  • LocationBend, Oregon

Posted 25 July 2014 - 05:22 AM

I don't put anything between the bottom of my camper and the bed of my truck, and If was was to guess I'd guess that is what most people do -- nothing under the camper.

There might be some advantage to doing so for certain situations, but I haven't.

FWC Hawk (2005) on a Ford F250 Supercab, 6.8L V10 gas (2000)

#3 camelracer

camelracer

• Members
  • 960 posts
  • LocationGoleta, Ca

Posted 25 July 2014 - 06:34 AM

I have a bed mat under mine because I had one in the truck when I bought the camper and figured I might as well use it. It keeps the camper from moving which helps on the road but makes centering the camper a 2 person job.

2002 Fiat 2500 CTD 4x4, FWC Grandby 1951 Willys CJ3A

#4 longhorn1

longhorn1

Ouch, that stings!

• Members
  • 2,826 posts
  • LocationCarmel, Indiana

Posted 25 July 2014 - 12:04 PM