• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 bluenote

bluenote

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 01:21 AM

Hi, A newbie here. I'm looking to buy a used Tundra and then look for a used Four Wheel Hawk. A friend mentioned to me the fact that the Tundra has a non-boxed frame and I should be concerned with the stress driving off road with a camper. Should I be concerned? Are there mods to compensate for the frame weakness?
Thanks in advance.

#2 DirtyDog

DirtyDog

Captain Leisure

• Site Team
  • 3,157 posts
  • LocationEugene, Oregon

Posted 31 August 2010 - 01:43 AM

We had a member here who was local to me that had an ATC camper on the previous generation Tundra. He claimed that he was getting bad wobble due to the flexible Tundra frame. He traded the truck in for a newer Tundra and said that while it was better, the frame was still more flexible than he would have liked.

BUT!

Lots of guys here use Tundras and they like them just fine. So I can't say what the final conclusion on the issue is.

#3 billharr

billharr

• Members
  • 2,824 posts
  • LocationStockton CA

Posted 31 August 2010 - 01:49 AM

Hi, A newbie here. I'm looking to buy a used Tundra and then look for a used Four Wheel Hawk. A friend mentioned to me the fact that the Tundra has a non-boxed frame and I should be concerned with the stress driving off road with a camper. Should I be concerned? Are there mods to compensate for the frame weakness?
Thanks in advance.

I have not noticed any flex that I can feel. 2005 Tundra and a 2002 Hawk

My Tundra working off road.

#4 SunMan

SunMan

King Taco

• Members
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationOxnard, CA.

Posted 31 August 2010 - 04:28 AM

I've been carrying a Hawk on my 2006 Tundra for the better part of three years and have logged a lot of pretty rough offroad miles with no issues. Fingers crossed for another three years of abuse!

Sunman
2003 Four Wheel Camper -Hawk

2023 All Terrain Camper - Panther