• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Chel

Chel

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 03:19 AM

So far I have stuck with my plan to avoid getting stuck. What gear do you carry to get un-stuck? I have some experience with climbing and rafting gear but my Tundra and Hawk are a bit heavier. Tow straps,come alongs and winches are new to me.
2008 Tundra Doublecab SR5 TRD, 5.7 V8, helper springs; 2008 FWC Hawk; Yakima Tracks/ Control Towers roof rack, Yakima Swingdaddy hitch rack; Champion Covers bicycle cover.

#2 MakersTeleMark

MakersTeleMark

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 04:47 AM

Well, to be honest, tow straps, come-along's, and winches are a good start. Or, begin with some lockers, a partner, and some prudence to avoid it. I don't see many folks really pushing the capabilities of their trucks (even stock rigs) with campers on them. Something about agitating the beer in the back keeps them away from it. My philosophy with my truck is a bit different though. I never even think of the camper on it.

Chains are really helpful too, depending on where you live. Get a mentor, do some tandem trail rides working up and you'll feel more confident.

The brain, and a lot of times, some well placed wheel location and throttle, will help a lot. Breakage it to be avoided, so know your rig's, and your location's limits.

Sorry not to be more helpful, but it's one of those things you just learn over time. Hard to just read about and apply. Experience, and the SNAFU's that you encounter, teach a lot, that the internet can't.

#3 camelracer

camelracer

• Members
  • 961 posts
  • LocationGoleta, Ca

Posted 09 May 2011 - 06:53 AM

I think it all depends on what you plan on getting stuck in. Sand, mud, rocks or over the edge of a cliff will require different techniques.