#1 Lighthawk

Lighthawk

Weekend warrior

• Members
  • 3,320 posts
  • LocationNevada City, CA

Posted 22 May 2011 - 04:45 PM

[Rant Alert]
I have always chafed at the requirement to reserve campsites, backpack permits and the like.
The freedom of spontaneity is lost when you must commit five months in advance.
[End Rant] ;)

We would love to get down to see Yosemite as the massive snowpack fuels the incredible waterfalls. However all reservations are booked. Even official campsites outside the park are at least an hour away, mostly south down by Oakhurst. We're coming from the north, via Big Oak Flat. Seems like the kayakers access Cherry Creek via Ferretti Rd., but I have no experience with this area.

I'm wondering if anyone has a suggestion for a place to bivy outside the park. I'm looking at the Stanislaus NF and notice roads heading towards the Tuolumne River. Since it's NF land, I assume we could pop the top just about anywhere. Hopefully we would be positioned within an hour or less of The (incomparible) Valley.

Anyone got any ideas?

2021 RAM 3500 Crew 4x4, 6.4 hemi/8 speed trans with 4.10 gears, Timber Grove bags, Falken Wildpeak 35" tires.

OEV Aluma 6.75 flatbed, Bundutec Odyssey camper on order for 2024

For this year we're still using our 2008 FWC Hawk with victron DC-DC charger, 130w solar, MPPT controler

with 2000w inverter and external 120v output and 12v solar input with 100w portable solar.   http://lighthawkphoto.com

#2 BSS

BSS

• Members
  • 432 posts
  • LocationState of Jefferson

Posted 22 May 2011 - 05:03 PM

Evergreen Road has a few pay-to-play campsites (not sure of the names, but I think one is called Diamond CG), but if you continue on along the road forks just before Evergreen Lodge, and the right turn (actually kinda straight, uphill) is a logging road with a couple nice turnouts along the way. You're looking for NFS Road 1S32. About 15 min drive from the west entrance to the park.

#3 Lighthawk

Lighthawk

Weekend warrior