#1 Land-roamer

Land-roamer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOttawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 27 June 2011 - 01:52 AM

Ok, so my 70's Alaskan restoration/re-use project is moving along. I have re-caulked the entire camper (seals, windows, etc.) and it has successfully passed a test during recent torrential rains, with no signs of water coming in.

Now I'm trying to diagnose and repair a nagging electrical issue.

Problem: when I plug an extension cord into the 110v external socket, the house circuit trips the breaker (GFI) or blows a fuse.

What I have done so far:
- checked out the wiring at the external socket and it's good, no shorts.
- checked the wiring and connections at the single breaker box, and I can't figure out if things are where they should be (I'm not an electrician nor do I have a proper wiring diagram for that box). So I disconnected the wires coming in and going out
- I've ascertained that there is continuity and no shorts between external socket and the input to the breaker box
- checked the wiring and connections at the two cone lamps in the back, and it looked generally good (redid some connections for good measure); good continuity with the 3 wires coming out of the breaker box (Hot/black, Neutral/While, Ground/bare).
- checked the wiring and connections at the combination overhead lamp over the sink: the 110v socket looked like it had been replaced, and the Hot and Neutral wires were reversed on the socket connectors, not sure that is an issue, so put them on the right connectors; ascertained good continuity with the 3 wires coming out of the breaker box