• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 backcountrydad

backcountrydad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 March 2017 - 06:22 AM

Howdy folks, I'm new to WTW but appreciate all the collective wisdom I've been reading in the various forums.

I'm looking to buy my first pop-up cab-over and am narrowing the search down to FWC and Hallmark. Seems easier to find used FWC's than Hallmarks (I could be wrong), and the thought of putting $20k+ on the table for a new Hallmark is a tough pill to swallow, even though the Hallmarks seem to be a bit better made and roomier inside.

So I'm posting to the FWC forum in hopes of receiving some input on why y'all chose an FWC over a Hallmark. For instance, the fact that the cab-over needs to be pulled out to form a Queen bed--even on the Grandby--seems suboptimal vs. the Hallmark EXC where the cab-over is already a full Queen--whether in the standard configuration or the North-South configuration. So what are the selling points of the FWC vs the Hallmark that convinced you to choose an FWC.

I don't mean to be inciting any riots. Just looking for some honest feedback to help with my buying decision.

Thanks in advance.

#2 kmcintyre

kmcintyre

• Members
  • 1,388 posts
  • LocationBoise, ID

Posted 01 March 2017 - 10:52 AM

You'll most likely get a lot of opinions but my take it depends on what you are doing with the camper.  If you plan on doing some off pavement exploring/camping/etc. the FWC or ATC is hard to beat.  The key things I think you need to look at are the underlying structural components.  Wood doesn't hold up well to the flexing that campers take over time. 

I see a lot more FWC/ATC campers in the backcountry than I do Hallmark for what that's worth and for me, that's a sign of a quality camper.  I've been to the ATC factory twice and seen the campers being made and the customer service they provide is unmatched and since I own an ATC camper, you can figure out what I decided on.