#1 Abbiennormal

Abbiennormal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:21 PM

Hello FWC!

Newbie here. I picked up 4 used corner jacks and wanted to install them on a 1986 Grandby. The camper does not have any jack fittings right now.

The corners are completely sealed with the protective molding. My question is, should I cut the out molding before installing the brackets or can I mount them on top of the molding (see pics). I am concern about keeping it water tight. Even thought the camper is from 1986 it is in mint condition and completely water tight right now.  I did look at the Brophy jacks but 4 of them would cost me over $1000 (don't trust myself to use two jacks only)  when the four used corner jacks came in under $200. On a tight budget so I decided to go with the corner jacks instead. Any advice you can give me would be much appreciated!

Abbie

Attached Thumbnails

• Rear passenger corner.jpg
  • Front passenger corner.jpg

1985 Grandby

1985 Ford F150 4x4

2017 Toyota Tundra 4x4

I'm just a Gen Xer with new knees so now I feel unstoppable.

#2 Beach

Beach

• Members
  • 866 posts

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:29 PM

I would cut the trim off to install the brackets.  If you clean all surfaces and bed the brackets, caulk the screw holes(new holes and any screws removed for cutting the trim) there is no reason you should have any leaks. Use a quality polyurethane caulk, I like 3m 4200 or 5200. Be sure to use appropriate size screws.

#3 longhorn1

longhorn1

Ouch, that stings!

• Members
  • 2,826 posts
  • LocationCarmel, Indiana

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:30 PM

It isn't that easy. I don't believe your camper was set-up to have jack's installed. Today's FWC have a combination of aluminum and wood installed in the corners.

You should contact FWC to get proper guidance.

http://texaslonghorns01.blogspot.com/

Ford F-250 Long bed, 2014 Grandby

#4 Abbiennormal

Abbiennormal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip