• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Barko1

Barko1

• Members
  • 1,635 posts
  • LocationSouthern Appalachians

Posted 30 July 2009 - 12:52 AM

Bought the used Granby FWC late last Fall and put it on my longbed F150 and while it did OK for several thousand mile trips I opted to go for an F250. Thought about new but since the market ate my retirement I stayed with a used 7.3 which seems to be the Ford motor of choice. Anyway I needed to get it ready for my Alaska trip which meant a good mechanical checkout and a few mods to make it stronger and a bit more off road worthy. I'm new to this truck stuff, especially the diesel so it has been fun. I added a DP Tuner 60+ chip which has been great, much more performance and still good mileage and also went with an oversize Donaldson severe duty airfilter and housing. That's all for under the hood. The suspension and truck had 120,000 on it and ws sagged out so I ended up putting new Ford leafs in the rear and adding Firestone Airbags to balance and raise the rear as needed. Of course then I wanted to level the front so I put in a kit up front that raised it about 2+ inches. In the process it was discovered that the sway bar mount was cracked/busted/no damn good so that was welded up plus I added Rough Country 9000 shocks all around. Finally in spite of having bought new tires as I headed for Alaska they were Big O crap and 20,000 later they look that bad so I bit the bullet and bought Firestone Destination AT's 285/75/16 up from the 265's that I had, E rating for my peace of mind. Then my final little mod was to have a custom front receiver snuck into the grill so I can haul more crap with me (-: A few pics, nothing fancy but should be good to go, rides well, a few inches higher, stronger performing, oh yeah and I threw in two 850cca batteries. So a pretty low cost truck that should be solid and capable and no payments following me. Here is the front lift:
Posted Image
Airbags
Posted Image
Front receiver