#1 RallyRock

RallyRock

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 05 November 2022 - 04:50 PM

Hello Again Everyone,

Brief background, I am adding a battery monitor so I can better gauge battery life and to avoid draining too low. I am heeding the advice of most here and bought a Victron BMV-712. Haven’t tried to install yet, just planning my wiring before I start. I am having some trouble because most videos and explanations I have found are for batteries wired in parallel but I have two 6v bats wired in series I think. Anyway, I’ve attached some pics with the existing setup and what I think the new setup should be. They are labeled in my own kind of way, sorry I’m not an engineer or knowledgeable of all the standard terminology. 

Attached File  E85BCE67-8095-4073-AC3F-0A67B64E5265.jpeg   113.11K   47 downloads

Attached File  3E065AF3-D434-4B72-B848-682BAB4EF4B5.jpeg   98.2K   46 downloads

Three things stand out, I’m not sure if what do with W1 or W4 which I think belong to the blue sea charge relay controller. I added my guess as to where they’ll go on the Victron instructions in blue lettering. 

next I’ll need to buy a wire, any recommendations on gauge or type of wire?

Lastly, do I have the instructions labeled right for my ultimate end goal?

thanks in advance for any input. 

#2 RallyRock

RallyRock

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 05 November 2022 - 05:14 PM

To add one more diagram I’m thinking is more pertinent, is the midpoint instruction from Victron. I think in this case all I would need to do is take W3 and W4 from my negative terminal on battery 2 and connect to the load side of the shunt. ThenI just add a new cab,e to connect the neg of battery 2 to the Battery side of the shunt. 

Attached File  2EF2965A-5EFB-40F8-BF00-BEC91AFFB168.jpeg   113.02K   42 downloads

Attached File  C88F6D40-83B1-46D3-B3C2-B26FEE92691F.jpeg   61.84K   41 downloads

#3 pvstoy

pvstoy

• Members
  • 2,771 posts