12 replies to this topic

#1 Jzack605

Jzack605

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 17 November 2023 - 05:53 PM

I got an ARB twin compressor to install on my tundra. Looking to possibly try and tackle this tomorrow. This is the kit I have:
https://www.summitra...rts/arb-ckmta12

I’m a complete noob to all of this. It seems simple enough, I’m ok with everything being under the hood including the switch if it makes things as simple and dummy proof as possible. Any advice? I think I could just get something that would work as a bracket for mounting at Home Depot? What else would I need other than a bracket? I have a 3/8” hose with a standard quick connect already that I would use at our local beaches compressor.

#2 Cpt Davenport

Cpt Davenport

• Members
  • 657 posts
  • LocationDavenport CA

Posted 17 November 2023 - 06:30 PM

Make sure you connect the red yellow wire to a fuse that only has power when the ignition is on. The compressor will not work unless this wire is connected.

My Chevy had a mounting plate meant for a second battery. That is where I mounted my compressor. I also mounted the switch under the hood for ease of wiring. You must open the hood anyway to connect the air hose unless you run a quick connect port somewhere outside the vehicle.

https://www.wanderth...0-on-board-air/

Edited by Cpt Davenport, 17 November 2023 - 07:24 PM.

#3 JHanson

JHanson

• Members
  • 489 posts
  • LocationTucson and Fairbanks

Posted 17 November 2023 - 10:50 PM

Congratulations! The ARB Twin is the best compressor on the market in my opinion. Given an engine-compartment mounting, I suggest opening the hood anyway when employing the compressor. The Twin is a fan-cooled unit, and while leaving the hood closed and engine on probably wouldn't damage it, it doesn't hurt to give it better circulation.

Edited by JHanson, 17 November 2023 - 10:51 PM.

#4 Jzack605

Jzack605

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts