• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ckent323

ckent323

• Members
  • 1,227 posts
  • LocationSolvang, CA

Posted 17 March 2013 - 09:59 PM

I am new to using solar panels having just bought two of the 100 watt Grape Solar units on sale from Costco for my Keystone.

Here are some of my thoughts about mounting them.

I have Yakima racks and occasionally I carry kayaks.

It seems to me that mounting the panels on top of the camper potentially exposes the solar panels to damage as well as shading from things like trees and bird droppings. The power output is allegedly very sensitive to shading of even small areas of the panels. Also running wire through the roof of non-prewired campers seems to be an invitation to leaks (although I think my 2009 Keystone is pre-wired unlike my old 1984 Keystone).

I am wondering if anyone has used a tripod or other off camper approach to allow optimal panel positioning. This approach would work best with wires coming out the rear or the side of the camper which might help minimize risk of leaks. I think running the wires and attaching a weather proof connection may be easier too.

Storage of the panels might be done using a lockable sliding rack/shelf in the gap between the camper bed overhang and the truck cab which would also keep them protected. The panels aren't heavy but they might be a bit unwieldly so I am not sure if I would be able to get them in and out of such a rack with minimal damage risk. Also I am have not yet identified a portable tripod mount and not even sure such a thing is available.

I am just starting to think on this and have not yet identified other ways to go about it so am interested in other ideas or better yet actual projects others may have done.

Regards,

Craig

1993 Dodge Cummins W-250 Club Cab long bed, 2007 FWC Keystone

#2 MarkBC

MarkBC

The Weatherman

• Site Team
  • 6,605 posts
  • LocationBend, Oregon

Posted 17 March 2013 - 10:11 PM