#1 imcolej

imcolej

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationBend, Oregon

Posted 18 May 2013 - 01:31 AM

My first trip report with a camper. Considering I've been dreaming about this first trip for a couple of years now I really didn't get enough pictures. I will work on that for future tr's.

Tuesday morning I left Bend, OR on the way to pick up our new FWC Hawk shell in a Medford, OR walmart parking lot. I went through the Umpqua Natl Forest as well as the Rogue River/Siskiyou Natl Forest to get there. It was great. Just my dog and I with tunes and an empty truck bed with no tailgate. Saw the rogue river for the first time and will be back! Hopefully with my buddy and his drift boat.

Very eager to make sure nothing went wrong, I got to the walmart three hours early! I introduced myself to Kirk the FWC installer. He looked at me like a was a little crazy for being there so early but I assured him and would go kill time somewhere else. I also met Frank who was inspecting his FWC Hawk for his noon install. He is planning on taking his rig up to Alaska with his late model Chevy Half Ton. Nice Guy.

IMG_1426.jpg
My hawk is on the very back of the flatbed. I actually went over and patted the camper as if to welcome her to the family.

After I introduced myself to our camper I left and found a dog park. George the wonder dog got a nice stretch and I had an opportunity to take my mind off of the waiting game by talking to other dog owners at the park.

After a very long 3 hours at the dog park/driving around Medford to check out the town, I was back and Kirk was working on getting the truck ready. I told him that it was a long three hours waiting to come back to finally get the Hawk. He looked at me, smiled and said "I bet it was". We talked for the next hour while he was working and I helped him where I could. He was very professional and knew what he was doing.

Here is a picture of the Hawk on the Tundra!
IMG_1430.jpg